My friend and fellow attorney, Bruce Denson, had a nice article in the Paraclete, which is published by the St. Pete Bar Association, about teens and driving. Here's what you need to know about the law and teen driving in Florida:
(FS = Florida Statute)
FS §316.191: Street racing will result in a year license suspension.
FS §322.056: A third conviction (or two within 12 weeks) for possessing tobacco products like cigarettes, chewing tabacco or snuff will result in a suspension. A conviction for possessing drugs will result in a minimum suspension of six months. Using a fake ID to obtain alcohol wil result in license suspension for 6 months.
FS §322.091 Teen has to be in school or a graduate to drive.
FS §322.27: Too Many Points for a teen will result in a license suspension.
FS §322.161: Six points in 12 months will result in a restriction to school/work driving only.
FS §1003.27: If a teen skips 15 days from school in a 90 day period, driving privileges will be taken away.
Don't Drink and Drive - anyone under the age of 21 driving with a BAC of .02 or greater will get an automatic license suspension of 6 months.
If you want more information about driving charges against teens, contact Bruce Denson - he is a criminal defense attorney in St. Pete and his practice includes juvenile and traffic offenses. You can find him at twitter.com/brucedenson.
For more information or a free consultation on your legal issue contact Scott and Fenderson PLLC, your injury law and family law attorneys, at 727-321-0099. http://www.scottandfenderson.com